Friday, 30 November 2012 11:44

Ne-Yo – R.E.D.

Not to be confused with Taylor Swift’s Red, this is R.E.D.


Text: Sherman Yang

Opening track ‘Cracks In Mr. Perfect’ was originally intended to be the title of Ne-Yo’s latest album R.E.D., the song apparently about his dark side. Listen to the lyrics closely and you’d be shocked. Luckily the track opened with him declaring you’re either going to love him for his honesty or hate him for being him. From spending $40k in 3 hours to his promiscuous behaviour, one must laud Ne-Yo for being so open about his lifestyle.

‘Let Me Love You (Until You Learn To Love Yourself)’ is an ballad made for the dance floor that hit the airwaves in July this year with lyrics co-written by Sia Furler (‘Titanium’ and ‘Wild Ones’). The track has already spawned a music video with a steamy bedroom scene (you can check out his rock hard abs). This is definitely a song that will get you partying in the clubs.

‘Forever Now’ is similar in style to ‘Let Me Love You’. The song starts off with the piano followed by the introduction of synthesized tunes. Sadly, the combination of emotional break-up lyrics and the strong beats do not seem to gel well (imagine being in a club screaming about your break-up on the dance floor). Overall however, the song still shows promise of becoming a hit.

Ne-Yo collaborates with Tim McGraw again on the track ‘She Is’. They previously worked together on ‘Only Human’ in McGraw’s album ‘Emotional Traffic’. With an acoustic guitar, the R&B and Country crossover somehow works well.

Overall, the album has a good mix of R&B and Pop tracks and Ne-Yo looks like he is aiming to make a comeback to the top of the charts.

Recommended tracks: ‘Let Me Love You (Until You Learn To Love Yourself)’, ‘Cracks In Mr. Perfect’, ‘She Is’

Rating: 3/5

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn

entertainment videos