All Blacks make clean sweep at 2012 IRB Awards

In rugby union news, 

England have been drawn with Wales and Australia in the Group stages of the 2015 World Cup. 

Scotland are in Pool B, which includes South Africa and Samoa, while Ireland's opponents in Pool D include France and Italy. 

And current world champions New Zealand are in Group C, along with Argentina and Tonga. 

The next World Cup kicks off in September 2015 in England. 


The New Zealand All Blacks might be suffering from a loss of form on the field recently. 

But that did not stop them from making a clean sweep at the annual International Rugby Board's awards. 

In London this morning, kiwis flyhalf Dan Carter was named 'Player of the Year'. 

It was the 2nd time 30-year-old Carter, had won the IRB honour, following his success in 2005. 

The other nominees for this year's award included All Blacks captain Richie McCaw and French fly-half Frederic Michalak.


New Zealand's Steve Hansen won the best coach title. 

And the All Blacks secured its 3rd straight 'Team of the Year' award, following a 20-match unbeaten run that was only ended by England 3 days ago. 

Onto cricket news, 

Ricky Ponting's emotional final match for Australia yesterday, ended in defeat as South Africa wrapped up a series-clinching 309-run victory in the 3rd Test. 

The 37-year-old, who announced his retirement before the match, was caught by Jacques Kallis at slip for 8 off Robin Peterson. 

Set at 632 for victory, Australia were bowled out for 322 in Perth. 

Playing his 168th Test, Ponting's final innings lasted just 23 deliveries and 39 minutes. 

The former Australian captain ends a glittering 17 year national Test career with close to 13,400 runs.