Workers' Party's Lee Li Lian sworn in as MP for Punggol East

Parliament began with Lee Li Lian of the Workers' Party, or W-P, swearing in as the Member of Parliament for Punggol East.

Ms Lee beat the People's Action Party's Dr Koh Poh Koon, the Reform Party's Kenneth Jeyaretnam and the Singapore Democratic Alliance's Desmond Lim in a four-cornered by-election on the 26th of January. 

She's the 7th elected WP member in the House. 

WP has two non-constituency MPs, Gerald Giam and Yee Jenn Jong.