Pradhana Vizha 2011 // Pradhana Vizha 2011(Pradhana Vizha 2011)

It was a night of glitz and glamour at Pradhana Vizha 2011. The awards extravaganza seeking to honour the elite saw the best of local Indian television gather under one roof. Viewers at home joined in as well, making it the second highest rated programme for this year. This year a record number of 26 awards were given out. A total of 49 Vasantham personalities and 11 production houses were nominated. Awards under the technical category were given out during the Pre-show which was telecast live from 7pm to 7.30pm while all other awards were given out during the main show which was also telecast live from 9pm-11pm. Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts, Mr Yaacob Ibrahim graced the event as the Guest-of-Honour.

Vettai and Vyjayanthi were each nominated for 9 awards, making it the only programme to have received the highest number of nominations to date. Another hot favourite were the Most Popular Male and Female Artiste awards. The run up to the announcement of the winner kept viewers at the edge of their seats as they watched 2 artistes be eliminated with each round. Some of the highly contested awards include Best Drama, Best Host-Variety and Best Supporting Actor. Vettai was the biggest winner of the night having bagged 4 awards -Best Actor, Best Opening Title and the Most Popular Male and Female Artiste, Gunalan Morgan and Gayathri Segaran.

The awards winners are as follows:

Best EditingTheerpugal
Best VideographyTheerpugal
Best Programme PromoSollamaley
Best Opening TitleVettai
Best Opening Signature SongAppa
Best News StoryTamil Speaking Fruit Seller -Chitra
Best Child Artiste (Shining Star)Sri Hari -My Dear Kudumbam
Best Children's ProgrammeOor Oorilae
Best Info-ed/Docu-DramaNC Pathinaaru
Best Host(Info-ed)Ananda Kannan
Best Infotainment SeriesAasai Aasai
Best New ComerYasini & Rishita
Best Supporting ActressKanniga Philips
Best Supporting ActorLingham
Best Variety SeriesEnna Nadakuthu
Best Host (Variety)Saravanan Ayyavoo
Best Variety Programme (Special)Amarkala Deepavali
Best Varitey SeriesYaar Antha Star
Best ActressKokila Gopinath
Best ActorShabir
Best Drama SeriesVyjayanthi
Life Time Achievement AwardSithara Thevi
Most Popular Female PersonalityGayathri Segaran
Most Popular Male PersonalityGunalan Morgan
Most Popular ProgrammeDhool vs Aatham 100 Vagai
Most Popular SeriesVettai

To learn more about Pradhana Vizha, log on